Qualified Biobanking

more info

Automated Cryostorage

more info

Modular Ultrasound Platform and Methods for Medicine, Biotechnology, NDT and Sonar Applications

more info

Liquid Level & Flow Measurement using Technical Ultrasound

more info

Maritime & Hydrographic Research Topics

more info

IT Platforms for Research on Personalized Medicine

more info

Miniaturized Systems for Cellular Biotechnology

more info

Implantable Assistance & Monitoring Systems

more info

Mobile Laboratory Units for Medicine and Analytics

more info

Technologies for the Laboratories of the Future

more info

Excerpt from our Portfolio

Here are a few examples of our extensive portfolio.

 

Qualified Biobanking

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Developments for automated cryo-storage.

More than ten years of interdisciplinary research in the field of cryobiotechnology at the Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical Engineering (IBMT) have led to the internationally and technologically leading alliance of biobanks, the so called "Fraunhofer BioArchive", and to the establishment of the "Association of German Cryobanks" (Gemeinschaft Deutscher Kryobanken GDK). The realized and commercially available biobank technology platform is based on more than 40 patent families of the Fraunhofer IBMT. The Fraunhofer IBMT is a system provider for therapeutically and diagnostically oriented biobanks and offers innovative possibilities for partners from industry and research to develop new cryomedia, optimized freezing protocols, storage on demand as well as planning and validation of industrially and clinically structured modern biobanks for storing valuable samples. The institute is involved as part of a major European project in the development of an iPS cell bank.

more info

Automated Cryostorage

In collaboration with industrial partners, the Fraunhofer IBMT designs and develops automated systems for cryostorage of valuable samples while maintaining the cold chain. New technologies avoid heating of the samples over the glass transition temperature during storage and retrieval. In addition to this, software-controlled automated storage, documentation and retrieval processes support safe storage in future-oriented systems. Tracking of stored samples is also possible and all of the relevant data for high-quality preservation, such as the temperature profile of individual samples, are stored. This significantly increases the value of the sample material and offers a crucial advantage, especially when dealing with sensitive patient samples.

more info

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Automated, ice-free biobank with closed cold chain (ASKION GmbH) installed at the EBiSC mirror facility in Sulzbach.

Modular Ultrasound Platform and Methods for Medicine, Biotechnology, NDT and Sonar Applications

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT.

Ultrasound as a cost-effective, non-invasive and real-time capable method, can be scaled over the frequency used. The Fraunhofer IBMT has implemented this scalability technologically in a new and unique modular ultrasound beamformer which can be easily adapted to a variety of applications. In addition to the ultrasonic hardware, the Department of Medical Ultrasound applies highly innovative software solutions that enable us to use ultrasound in medicine, biotechnology, NDT (non-destructive testing) and sonar applications. Specialities include systems and methods using optical laser combined with ultrasound (optoacoustics) that work with very high frequencies, are adapted to specific environmental conditions (hybrid imaging on MRI/pressure neutrality for use in AUVs and ROVs ) or are extremely compact for use with mobile devices.

more info

Liquid Level & Flow Measurement using Technical Ultrasound

Level, flow and quality are just three physical properties that can be measured using ultrasound. The Fraunhofer IBMT can detect and evaluate a large range of variables and parameters in the field of technical ultrasound. Using the appropriate sensors and systems, the application areas range from laboratory to workbench and to home and everysay mobility.

more info

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT.

Ultrasound level metering at a multi titer plate.

Maritime & Hydrographic Research Topics

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Ultrasound sensor, e. g. for mapping the ocean´s ground.

Our seas, oceans and waters are a valuable asset that needs to be explored and to protected. Fraunhofer IBMT deals in many fields with these lifelines, be it with algae as the basis for stem cell cultivation, the detection of minute nano amounts in environmental samples or in technological fields such as scalable sonar sensor systems, pressure-balanced modules and autonomous water vehicles.

more info

IT Platforms for Research on Personalized Medicine

Against the background of demographic change, the Fraunhofer IBMT develops personal health systems and intelligent assistants for the elderly and the chronically ill. This includes disease management systems with integrated decision support and communication components for telemedical health care, home care and telemedicine platforms, or the creation of new ICT infrastructure for the networked clinical research that integrate a wide variety of IT tools into an overall concept that includes access to biomaterials in order to pave the way for personalized medicine.

more info

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Smartphone app in the project iManageCancer.

Miniaturized Systems for Cellular Biotechnology

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Microsensor system for the investigation of liver cells in the d-LIVER project

The Fraunhofer IBMT develops new methods, components and systems for gentle handling, precise manipulation and on-line monitoring of living cells. The combination of concepts and methods from the field of microsystems technology and biotechnology allows the provision of novel and highly parallelized analysis methods and cultivation techniques that do not require macroscopic devices such as incubators and microscopes. Through a clever combination of transparent microstructured substrates with electrically conductive electrode structures and fluidic microchannels, tens of thousands of cells, for example, can be arranged with a precisely defined position in a two-dimensional array. These cells can be cultured over days and analyzed by means of optical or electrical methods.

more info

Implantable Assistance & Monitoring Systems

The Fraunhofer IBMT develops, manufactures, characterizes and uses miniaturized systems (e. g., for closed-loop systems ) in order to detect, condition, telemetrically transfer and analyze biosignals including electrical stimulation of neural structures. These microsystems are used as smart interfaces for both monitoring (e. g. to monitor pilot vigilance on long-distance flights or for intraoperative neuromonitoring) and for implantable assistance systems (e. g. as an intelligent implant for control of a hand prosthesis). The particular expertise is one of IBMTs many offers, ranging from materials science to manufacturing technologies and measurement, right up to risk management.

more info

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Closed and open implant of the lighthouse project Theranostic Implants.

Mobile Laboratory Units for Medicine and Analytics

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Mobile epidemiological laboratory truck.

Under the heading of "laboratory of the future", since 2009 the Fraunhofer IBMT has been developing and testing innovative laboratory technologies in cooperation various partners. The initiative has been receiving funding from the Saarland state government since 2010. The registered association "Laboratory of the Future - Labor der Zukunft e. V." was founded in February 2014 in order to provide a sustainable and comprehensive platform for vertical integration in laboratory technology. As a kind of flagship, the mobile epiLabor is the prominently visible technology carrier in the external representation. It has also been proving itself since 2013 in tough, real-world conditions for the environmental specimen bank and as a mobile vaccination unit.

more info

Technologies for the Laboratories of the Future

The Fraunhofer IBMT is concerned with the development of individual components and the integration of complex application scenarios in the field of medical-analytical, physical-chemical and measurement laboratories. In terms of the method, the spectrum ranges from conceptual design, simulation and visualization right up to design and prototype construction. Software development and customization, machine vision applications, fluidic components and sensory methods based on ultrasound and electromagnetic principles are further focal points of the IBMT in the field of laboratory technologies.

more info

© Photo Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Laboratory of the Environmental Specimen Bank on behalf of the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) in Sulzbach.

Core Competences

Research and Development

 

Medical Biotechnology

 

Ultrasound

 

Biomedical Engineering

Business Areas

 

Laboratory Technology

 

Theranostics

 

Medical Engineering

Qualifiziertes Biobanking

mehr Info

Automatisierte Kryolagerung

mehr Info

Modulare Ultraschall-Plattform und Verfahren für Medizin, Biotechnologie, NDT und Sonar

mehr Info

Füllstands- & Strömungsmessung mit technischem Ultraschall

mehr Info

Maritime & hydrographische Forschungsthemen

mehr Info

IT-Plattformen für die Forschung zur personalisierten Medizin

mehr Info

Miniaturisierte Systeme für die zelluläre Biotechnologie

mehr Info

Implantierbare Assistenz- & Monitoringsysteme

mehr Info

Mobile Einheiten für Medizin und Analytik

mehr Info

Technologien für die Labore der Zukunft

mehr Info

Auszug aus unserem Portfolio

Nachfolgend einige Beispiele aus unserem breiten Portfolio.

Qualifiziertes Biobanking

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Entwicklungen für die automatisierte Kryolagerung.

Mehr als zehn Jahre interdisziplinäre Forschung in der Kryobiotechnologie haben am Fraunhofer-Institut für Biomedizinische Technik (IBMT) zu dem international technologisch führenden Biobankenverbund, dem »Fraunhofer-BioArchiv« und der Gründung der »Gemeinschaft Deutscher Kryobanken (GDK)«, geführt. Die realisierte und kommerziell verfügbare Biobanken-Technologieplattform basiert auf mehr als 40 Patentfamilien des Fraunhofer IBMT. Das Fraunhofer IBMT ist Systemanbieter für therapeutisch und diagnostisch ausgerichtete Biobanken und bietet Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung die Entwicklung neuer Kryomedien, optimierte Einfrierprotokolle, Auftragslagerung sowie Planung und Validierung von industriell und klinisch strukturierten modernsten Biobanken zur Ablage wertvoller Proben an. Das Institut ist im Rahmen eines europäischen Großprojekts am Aufbau einer iPS-Zellbank beteiligt.

mehr Info

Automatisierte Kryolagerung

Gemeinsam mit industriellen Partnern konzipiert und entwickelt das Fraunhofer IBMT automatisierte Anlagen für die Kryolagerung von wertvollem Probenmaterial unter Einhaltung der Kühlkette. Neue Technologien vermeiden hierbei das Erwärmen der Proben über die Glasübergangstemperatur beim Ein- und Auslagern. Zusätzlich unterstützen softwaregesteuerte automatisierte Einlagerungs-, Dokumentations- und Auslagerungsprozesse die sichere Lagerung in zukunftsweisenden Anlagen. Außerdem wird eine Nachverfolgung der eingelagerten Proben ermöglicht und relevante Daten zum Qualitätserhalt, wie z. B. der Temperaturverlauf der einzelnen Proben, gespeichert. Dies erhöht signifikant den Wert des eingelagerten Probenmaterials und bietet vor allem im Umgang mit sensiblen Patientenproben einen entscheidenden Vorteil.

mehr Info

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Automatisierte, eisfreie Biobank mit geschlossener Kühlkette (ASKION GmbH), wie sie in der EBiSC-Spiegelbank in Sulzbach installiert ist.

Modulare Ultraschall-Plattform und Verfahren für Medizin, Biotechnologie, NDT und Sonar

Ultraschall ist als kostengünstiges, nichtinvasives und echtzeitfähiges Verfahren über die eingesetzte Frequenz skalierbar. Das Fraunhofer IBMT hat diese Skalierbarkeit in einem neuen einzigartigen modularen Ultraschall-Beamformer technologisch umgesetzt, der einfach an eine Vielzahl von Applikationen angepasst werden kann. Neben der Ultraschall-Hardware stehen in der Abteilung Medizinischer Ultraschall weiterhin innovativste Softwarelösungen zur Verfügung, die es ermöglichen, Ultraschall im Bereich der Medizin, der Biotechnologie, des NDT (zerstörungsfreie Prüfung) und des Sonar einzusetzen. Besonderheiten sind Systeme und Verfahren, die optische Laser mit Ultraschall kombinieren (Optoakustik), sehr hochfrequent arbeiten, an spezielle Umgebungsbedingungen angepasst sind (Hybrid-Bildgebung am MRT/Druckneutralität zum Einsatz in AUVs und ROVs) oder extrem kompakt für den Einsatz mit mobilen Endgeräten.

mehr Info

Füllstands- & Strömungsmessung mit technischem Ultraschall

Füllstand, Strömung, Qualität sind nur drei physikalische Eigenschaften, die mit Ultraschall gemessen werden können. Das Fraunhofer IBMT kann im Bereich des Technischen Ultraschalls eine Vielzahl von Kenngrößen und Parametern messtechnisch erfassen und auswerten. Die Anwendung reicht unter Einsatz geeigneter Sensoren und Systeme vom Labor über die Werkbank bis zum häuslichen und mobilen Alltag.

mehr Info

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT.

Ultraschallfüllstandsmessung an einer Multi-Titer-Platte.

Maritime & hydrographische Forschungsthemen

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Ultraschallsonde, z. B. für die Meeresbodenkartierung.

Unsere Meere, Ozeane und Gewässer sind ein hohes Gut, das es zu erforschen und zu erhalten gilt. Das Fraunhofer IBMT befasst sich auf vielerlei Feldern mit diesen Lebensadern, sei es mit Algen als der Basis für Stammzellzucht, dem Nachweis von »Nano«-Kleinstmengen in Umweltproben oder auch in technologischen Feldern wie skalierbare Sonarsensorsysteme, druckneutrale Module und autonome Wasserfahrzeuge.

mehr Info

IT-Plattformen für die Forschung zur personalisierten Medizin

Vor dem Hintergrund des demographischen Wandels entwickelt das Fraunhofer IBMT persönliche Gesundheitssysteme und intelligente Assistenten für Senioren und chronisch Kranke. Dies umfasst Disease-Management-Systeme mit integrierter Entscheidungsunterstützung und Kommunikationskomponenten für die telemedizinische Gesundheitsversorgung, Home-Care- und Telemedizinplattformen oder die Schaffung neuartiger IKT-Infrastrukturen für die vernetzte klinische Forschung, die verschiedenste IT-Werkzeuge in ein Gesamtkonzept integrieren, das den Zugang zu Biomaterialen einschließt, um den Weg für personalisierte Medizin ebnen zu können.

mehr Info

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Smartphone-App im Projekt iManageCancer.

Miniaturisierte Systeme für die zelluläre Biotechnologie

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Mikrosystemtechnisches Sensorsystem zur Untersuchung von Leberzellen im Projekt d-LIVER.

Das Fraunhofer IBMT entwickelt neue Methoden, Komponenten und Systeme für die schonende Handhabung, die präzise Manipulation und das Online-Monitoring lebender Zellen. Die Kombination von Konzepten und Verfahren aus der Mikrosystemtechnik und der Biotechnologie erlaubt die Bereitstellung neuartiger und hochgradig parallelisierter Analyseverfahren und Kultivierungstechniken, die ohne makroskopische Geräte wie z. B. Brutschränke und Mikroskope auskommen. Durch eine geschickte Kombination transparenter mikrostrukturierter Substrate mit elektrisch leitfähigen Elektrodenstrukturen und fluidischen Mikrokanälen können beispielsweise zigtausende Zellen mit genau definierter Position in einem zweidimensionalen Array angeordnet werden. Diese Zellen lassen sich über Tage kultivieren und mittels optischer oder elektrischer Methoden analysieren.

mehr Info

Implantierbare Assistenz- & Monitoringsysteme

Das Fraunhofer IBMT entwickelt, fertigt, charakterisiert und wendet miniaturisierte Systeme an, um Biosignale einschließlich der elektrischen Stimulation neuronaler Strukturen (z. B. für Closed-Loop-Systeme) zu erfassen, zu konditionieren, telemetrisch zu übertragen und zu analysieren. Diese Mikrosysteme werden als smartes Interface sowohl zum Monitoring (z. B. bei Langstreckenflügen zur Erfassung der Vigilanz von Piloten oder für das intraoperative Neuromonitoring) als auch für implantierbare Assistenzsysteme (z. B. als intelligentes Implantat zur Handprothesensteuerung) eingesetzt. Die besondere Expertise liegt im Gesamtangebot, das von den Materialwissenschaften über Fertigungstechnologien und Messtechnik bis hin zum Risikomanagement reicht.

mehr Info

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Gehäustes und offenes Implantat im Leitprojekt Theranostische Implantate.

Mobile Einheiten für Medizin und Analytik

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Mobiles epidemiologisches Laborfahrzeug.

Unter dem Thema „Labor der Zukunft“ entwickelt und erprobt das Fraunhofer IBMT seit 2009 gemeinsam mit Partnern innovative Labortechnologien. Seit 2010 wird die Initiative von der saarländischen Landesregierung gefördert. Im Februar 2014 wurde der Verein Labor der Zukunft e. V. gegründet, um eine nachhaltige und übergreifende Plattform für die vertikale Integration in der Labortechnologie zu bieten. Quasi als Flaggschiff ist das mobile epiLabor prominent sichtbarer Technologieträger in der Außendarstellung. Andererseits beweist es sich seit 2013 im harten Alltagseinsatz für die Umweltprobenbank des Bundes und als medizinisches Impfmobil.

mehr Info

Technologien für die Labore der Zukunft

Das Fraunhofer IBMT befasst sich mit der Entwicklung von Einzelkomponenten und der Integration von komplexen Anwendungsszenarien in den Bereichen medizinisch-analytischer, physikalisch-chemischer und messtechnischer Labore. Methodisch reicht das Spektrum vom konzeptionellen Design über Simulation und Visualisierung bis hin zu Konstruktion und Prototypenbau. Softwareentwicklung und -anpassung, Machine-Vision-Applikationen, fluidische Komponenten und sensorische Verfahren basierend auf Ultraschall und elektromagnetischen Prinzipien sind weitere Schwerpunkte im Bereich der Labortechnologien.

mehr Info

© Foto Fraunhofer IBMT, Bernd Müller.

Labor der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes in Sulzbach.

Kernkompetenzen

Forschen und Entwickeln

 

Medizinische Biotechnologie

 

Ultraschall

 

Biomedizintechnik

Geschäftsfelder

 

Labortechnologie

 

Theranostik

 

Medizintechnik